Mirror, mirror on the wall

mirror2

This morning my hair stylist stepped away for a few minutes and I was left staring at myself in the mirror. I don’t like staring at myself in mirrors. The longer I gaze into that thing, the more frightening the reflection becomes.

Then I had one of my random, where did that come from? thoughts. What would become of humanity if we were to destroy our mirrors? All of them. Certainly, the economy would plummet into an unfathomable depth. But, I am not talking about the economy here. I mean the human psyche. What would become of us if we could no longer see our imperfections reflected back to us?

Imagine:

Those imperfections would no longer matter.

Make-up would become obsolete.

The perfect ‘Do’ would disappear.

Twiggy bodies? Pfffttt!

Men’s razors tossed.

Bald or thinning hair? Who cares?

We would never judge others based on their appearance, lest we be judged ourselves.

Thus, physical competition is gone and the days of accepting each other for who we are, not how we look, have begun.

I’d like to believe our world be a more loving, caring and compassionate one. The ridiculous and exhausting – not to mention expensive – need to physically compete with each other would come to a blessed end and we would get down to the business of living in a more harmonious world.

Interesting.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Criticism, dreams, Family, Harmony, Hope, Humor, Imperfections, Life. Isn't it Grand!, Men, People, Random thoughts, Reflection, Uncategorized, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Mirror, mirror on the wall

  1. MommieDiary says:

    As a woman I feel like I’m constantly judged on how I look , what I wear ect..
    I too would like to live in a world where imperfections are embraced and not frowned upon. Great post:)

    • pardenme says:

      Sadly, we are very often, and unfairly, judged for exactly that. How sad to know that someone may have dissed us because our hair was in a ponytail that day. Thank you, MommieDiary 🙂

  2. mewhoami says:

    Can you imagine the freedom? We could just live life and enjoy it, without the constant fear of how we look. Really, it’s all very petty the things we let control us. The world would be so much better if we didn’t have that always hanging over our heads. If we didn’t always feel that we had to compete. Some of the most beautiful people I know, are those who accept themselves for who they are. They’re comfortable in their own skin, without having to force a look that is not theirs.

  3. April says:

    Just as long as soap is kept around, I would love to break all the standards. I just want to be around pleasant smelling bodies. Oh,,,and toothpaste too.

    • pardenme says:

      Somehow I knew, even before reading your reply, that you would make me laugh! Oh yes, we would definitely have to keep the soap and toothpaste on hand. Hugs, April.

  4. suzjones says:

    I like your way of thinking about this. It poses many questions doesn’t it?

  5. Glynis Jolly says:

    I’m assuming that you are inclined to think that most people spend too much time evaluating themselves in from of the mirror. I definite think that. I look at my reflection to brush my teeth morning and night (helps with the flossing) and to run a comb through my hair in the morning (a touch of vanity there). That’s it. I’m done with the mirror.

Leave a Reply

